
Rules Quiz 5 
Question 1  
Temporary water is an abnormal course condition. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 2  
A player drops a ball in the right way in the relief area when taking a drop under 
a Rule. The ball hits the ground first but then accidentally hits her foot before 
coming to rest in the relief area. The player must drop the ball again. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 3  
A player's ball lies on a towel in the general area. When the player takes free 
relief, she may drop a ball up to one club-length from the point under where the 
ball lay on the towel, no nearer the hole. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 4  
A player may employ two caddies at the same time during a round. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 5  
Loose impediments may not be removed with the back of a golf club. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 6  
In match play, a player hits a shot in a bunker and his ball rebounds off the face 
of the bunker. The player does not have time to get out of the way and the ball 
hits his body. The player must play the ball as it lies, but what is the penalty? 

A - The player gets one penalty stroke. 

B - There is no penalty. 

C - The player loses the hole. 



Question 7  
The general penalty is a two-stroke penalty in stroke play and match play. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 8  
A player may decline a concession by their opponent. 

A - True 

B - False 

 
Question 9  
A player makes a stroke on the putting green with the flagstick in the hole. Her 
ball comes to rest against the flagstick with part of the ball below the surface of 
the putting green. The ball is considered holed. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 10  
When taking relief under a Rule requiring a drop, the ball must be dropped from 
knee height with the arm fully extended out from the body. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 11  
A player is entitled to free relief when his ball is embedded in the rough. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 12  
A player finds her ball by stepping on it in thick rough after searching for it for 2 
minutes, causing it to move. What is the ruling? 

A - The player gets a penalty of one stroke and must place the ball on the 
estimated spot. If the ball was under the growing grass it must be replaced under 
that grass. 

B - There is no penalty and the player must place the ball on the estimated spot. 
If the ball was under the growing grass it must be replaced under that grass. 

C - There is no penalty and the player must drop the ball as near as possible to 
the estimated spot. 



Question 13  
The nearest point of complete relief may be nearer the hole than the ball's 
original spot. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 14  
Any bush or tree growing in ground under repair is not part of the ground under 
repair. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 15  
In stroke play, a ball is "in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke from 
inside the teeing area. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 16  
If a match is tied after the final hole, the match is extended one hole at a time 
until there is a winner. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 17  
Information on the position of the flagstick on a putting green is advice. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
Question 18  
Leaves, twigs and branches which are not attached or growing are loose 
impediments. 

A - False 

B - True 

 
 


